2022 for ME, Kunal, and Open source! - Dev Retro 2022

2022 for ME, Kunal, and Open source! - Dev Retro 2022

At the beginning of 2022, I was no less knowledgeable about the outer world. I thought only competitive programming was the only way to get better jobs.

How did I find Kunal?

I used Twitter to get updated news on Football. I am a football freak. One random day I see on Twitter a guy name who posts about open sources. I have stuck the word, what are open sources?

By name, we know that open sources mean the source code is open. Nothing more than I know. I started following the man. None other than his is Kunal Kushwaha.

Following his tweet, my interest in open sources going to high. And I was watching videos and read articles to know more about it. The one thing that shocked me is that Kunal did everything before completing his undergraduate.

I was not interested in development, even though I have no clear idea about DevOps. I live in Bangladesh and my university has no bother about that, they are busy with traditional things. After that my plan going to change.

Open Source

Kunal often tweets at that time about open sources and remote jobs. I have been searching YouTube and Google to know more about it. And then I see another open Source enthusiast Eddihub. I passed the days through Kunal and Eddie's tweets.

After a while, I knew that Open Source doesn’t mean always writing code or being an expert in code. You can write documentation. It's one kind of contribution. The prime motive of open source is increasing collaboration.

How did my journey start?

I have been watching his videos on YouTube, following him on Twitter, and listening to tweeter spaces. I am interested in learning about DevOps. I have little experience with flutter mobile application development. Kunal often posts about Kubernetes and remote jobs. Last year he traveled to around 12-15 countries. Not a traveler, going there as a speaker. Yet, he did not complete his undergraduate degree.

A remote job changed his lifestyle. Yes, he is very hardworking and one of the most talented young stars I have ever seen. If you watch his DSA playlists on YouTube you can realize how talented he is. I cleared some basic things from his playlist, yet I couldn’t complete it. Cycle sort, Binary Search application, matrix, and Linked List are those things I cleared and also learning.

HACKTOBERFEST

Every year the month of October is called developer month. GitHub and other organizations together arranged a full month of the fest in October called hacktoberfest.

For the first time, I participated in Hacktoberfest. I submit very basic projects in different repositories among which only 3 are accepted. After the Fest, I myself realized again that I have no experience participating in hacktober fest. However, I have learned a little about how to participate and do the job. I am pretty sure that in the year 2023, my 6 repositories will be accepted IN SHA ALLAH.

Flutter

I started learning about FlutterDevs. I had no experience with development, but a few in basic HTML and CSS.

I enjoyed learning and developing some applications. I used only the firebase. The first API call was made on a project that is about weather API. I have written an article about it link. I also created mini projects such as portfolios, quizzes, basic registration, and log-in in with firebase.

Whenever I developed the application I got a number of errors. I failed and got disappointed but I did not quit. Still, I am facing difficulties whenever I start new things.

Conclusion

2022 is the year that I never forget. I learn many things from the tech world. Though I am not an expert, I believe in myself that I will be an expert one day IN SHA ALLAH.

Thank you everyone.

Sajjad Rahman